Overtime eggs: Scrambled eggs with kale and blue cheese

Soft and steamy scrambled eggs laced with kale and tart blue cheese.

Sometimes, all you want is eggs. They’re aren’t called nature’s most perfect food for nuttin’, I guess. They’re ideal for breakfast, lunch, and even dinner. Yes, dinner. When I don’t feel like cooking and I want something fast and comforting, I turn to eggs.

Such was the case this week. Work has been really busy lately as we wind down (wind up?) toward the end of a big project, and that has meant one thing: overtime! I’ve gone in early and stayed late some days, and for someone who needs a bomb to get out of bed, this has made for a rough week. I cooked an actual dinner exactly once this week – once! It’s pathetic, I know. I’m embarrassed – really, I am.

But who wants to cook dinner when you get home at 7:30? That means you’ll eat at 8 or 8:30 by the time I get settled in and finish cooking, and that’s just too late for me. So, easy dinner it was. And what’s one of my favorite easy dinners? Eggs!

I didn’t use to like scrambled eggs, but they’ve grown on me in the last few years. I owe that to my aunt Kay, who taught me how to scramble eggs the “French way” (it’s probably just the proper way): over medium-low heat, using near-constant stirring with a fork. The result? Soft, moist scrambled eggs that literally melt in your mouth. They make a satisfying get-up-and-go breakfast on weekends, but they make an even better weekday dinner when paired with a side salad or sliced tomato (in summer).

Occasionally I mix things in with the eggs, which is what I did this week. I had a bunch of kale hanging in my crisper that was nearing the end of its useful life, to be truthful. So, I gave that a rough chop and sautéed it butter for a few minutes, then steamed it with a few tablespoons of water for a few minutes more. In went two forked eggs, then when those were thirty seconds away from perfection I sprinkled in a tablespoon of crumbled Gorgonzola cheese and stirred it all around. Genius! This was perhaps the most delicious rendition of scrambled eggs I’ve ever cooked – or eaten.

Please try these – whether for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. It’s an interesting take on traditional eggs Florentine flavors – a real winner. Enjoy!

Update: It’s now late January 2010, and I’ve made these twice this long holiday weekend: first with kale and mozzarella and then with spinach and mozzarella. They were both delicious (mostly because I think I’m actually in love with eggs), but I think I still prefer my original version. The crunchiness of the kale holds up better to the soft eggs, in my opinion. But like most things, to each his – her – own….

Scrambled eggs with kale and blue cheese

  • 2 eggs, whisked or stirred well with a fork
  • 2 cups kale, washed, de-veined, and medium chopped
  • 1/2 Tablespoon butter
  • sprinkle salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 Tablespoon blue cheese, crumbled

Heat butter in a small nonstick pan over medium heat. Add kale and stir to distribute the butter and cook the greens evenly. Sprinkle with salt and pepper; go easy on the salt on account of the naturally salty blue cheese. Let cook down for 2-3 minutes; the kale should still be brightish green. Add a few tablespoons of water, 2 to 3, to the pan, cover, and let cook down for 3-4 minutes.

Meanwhile, mix the eggs together in a small bowl. Reduce the pan’s heat to medium-low. Uncover the kale and pour the eggs over the kale. Use a fork to gently, slowly stir and turn the mixture. Keep watch of the eggs and keep stirring until there is a bit of wetness still to them. Add the blue cheese and stir for no more than 20-30 seconds – just until the cheese melts in the eggs. There should still be a soft wetness to the scrambled egg mixture, but only slightly. Serve immediately.

2 thoughts on “Overtime eggs: Scrambled eggs with kale and blue cheese

  1. Sounds very good, and I’m not a huge egg person! However, I love kale, and if I’m going to eat eggs, scrambled is the way to go. I’ll give this a try on my next busy weeknight.

Leave a Reply

