All writing, no cooking a rapacious* night owl makes

* ra·pa·cious: excessively grasping or covetous; living on prey; ravenous

In this case, rapacious means – as you probably guessed – ravenous. At the moment, the only thing I am preying upon is my keyboard, as you see above. Lit by the moonlight, my keyboard is currently getting a workout while my kitchen is becoming lazy. This night owl is writing more than cooking lately – better for my hopeful novel but worse for this blog.

I had complained about the opposite about two weeks ago while munching on homemade eggplant sandwiches, and it now seems Muse finally answered my prayer. Hallelujah! So, while the inspiration hits, I will – gladly – go along with it, sitting at my antique-sewing-table-with-working-foot-pedal-cum-laptop-desk and tap-tapping away at my trusty Dell. My kitchen will have to wait, sadly.

That being said, I was given a fabulous covered Calphalon saucepan, a single-piece stainless steel wonder and my first non-IKEA cookware item, for my birthday – and I am chomping at the bit to cook with it. I was also given several stunning pieces of chartreuse, dark green, and medium green (rare!) Fiestaware dishes; while 1950s vintage, these are my everyday dishes and are slowly accumulating to quite a collection. Thanks, mom and dad! For now, I will have to content myself with eating salads, reheated meals, and leftovers off of them. At least food tastes better atop them – or so I like to think.

By the way, I’m not actually hungry; quite the opposite is true, in fact. My belly is full and happy, thank you Thanksgiving. But if I keep going like this – not taking meal breaks – I might soon be!

Cheers, and I’ll be back soon – I promise, kitchen!

2 thoughts on “All writing, no cooking a rapacious* night owl makes

Leave a Reply

