Chicken with ginger

 

For dinner I cooked Martha’s Chicken with Ginger, which I first made about two years ago and liked very much. Her version looks a bit more vibrant than mine, but I think that’s due to her using more soy sauce and cooking it down longer (and altered photography?!). As usual, I altered her recipe quite a bit! I prefer a much higher ratio of vegetables to chicken than her recipes generally call for; here I use two chicken breasts and even add two celery stalks and a leek, both chopped. Also, I salt and

Lots of celery, red onion, and leeks surrounding the lightly browned chicken

Lots of celery, red onion, and leeks surrounding the lightly browned chicken

pepper the chicken for flavor (but no salt to the veggies!). I don’t add the vinegar – although I did tonight and regretted it because it added nothing and upset my stomach – or sugar, substituting a teaspoon of honey instead. Neither time I made this recipe has the sauce thickened as the recipe says it would, but that’s fine with me – I even add about 1/4 cup of chicken stock for flavor and to dilute the saltiness of the soy sauce. Finally, I didn’t soak the sliced ginger tonight because, truthfully, I didn’t know how it benefited the ginger. I read somewhere that soaking the ginger reduces the “bite”, but then maybe you should use less ginger. I think the ginger was a little bitter tonight though, and it wasn’t the first time I cooked this, so I think I’ll soak it next time just in case as well as make sure it’s fresh. Served over brown rice with a side salad of spinach and my favorite vinaigrette of walnut oil, lemon juice, and mustard, this dish is a winner – something I will make with a higher frequency than two years! I just need to drink a lot of water before and after eating it….

The finished chicken with ginger, piled over fluffy brown rice.

The finished chicken with ginger, piled over fluffy brown rice.

 

Leave a Reply

