Sticky Toffee Pudding for Girls Cooking Night

For the Girls Cooking Night themed “Snow Day” (meals traditionally made when we were kids and it was snowy), I decided to bake the oh-so-warm-and-comforting British classic Sticky Toffee Pudding. I baked it a year ago for my parents and Sarah and Robert Hart, and it turned out fabulously then. Both times I used this recipe I found online from Food and Wine, which turned out to be an absolute winner; it’s decadently rich and incredibly sweet. The only change I make is to add a teaspoon of instant espresso powder and half a teaspoon of salt whisked into the dry ingredients, which I found in other recipes. The major points for this recipe is to use a 9×12 glass baking pan like they suggest, otherwise the cake (excuse me, the pudding…) gets too high and doesn’t cook evenly enough, and also to keep poking holes in the cake as it cools so it absorbs all the toffee sauce it can. In fact, since this dessert is so rich I might make half a recipe next time and bake it in an 8×8 glass dish. Cooking down the toffee sauce was easy to do, as long as I stirred it

gedc1338

continually; I also added just a stick and a half of unsalted butter instead of two sticks, and still I feel like it was too much because it separated a bit when I reheated it for serving. However, the toffee bubbled deliciously in the oven for the final five minutes of baking and the end result was a soft, moist cake – pudding? Whatever you call it, all the girls decided that the only thing the British can cook properly are baked goods, this including! This is surely a “do-again” … and again and again!

Sticky Toffee Pudding, with extra toffee sauce for drizzling

Sticky Toffee Pudding, with extra toffee sauce for drizzling

One thought on “Sticky Toffee Pudding for Girls Cooking Night

Leave a Reply

