Chocolate pancakes with sweetened cream cheese topping

I decided to kill two cravings with one dish, even though it was completely ridiculous to make for breakfast – while I’m on a diet. What can I say; I must be getting my period or something? Anyway, I made chocolate pancakes by simply using standard boxed pancake mix and adding a good two tablespoons (eyeballed) of cocoa powder, an extra two tablespoons of (skim) milk, and a dash of vanilla extract. Next time I’ll make the pancakes completely from scratch, as I think the buttermilk flavor in the boxed pancake mix fights a bit with the cocoa and muddies it just a tad. Still, the pancakes hit the spot, especially with the topping I made by mixing cream cheese with some powdered sugar and a generous dash of vanilla extract. Spread on when the pancakes are still hot, the cream cheese topping is delicious!

Chocolate pancakes with sweetened cream cheese and toffee sauce

Chocolate pancakes with sweetened cream cheese and toffee sauce

With the leftover pancakes I might try a bit of peanut butter on top, or a drizzle of toffee sauce from the sticky toffee pudding I cooked later today – but each of these cases reinforces the fact that this “meal” is a decadent one which should only be cooked once a year!

One thought on “Chocolate pancakes with sweetened cream cheese topping

  1. Pingback: Oatmeal pancakes for Pancake Week! « Night Owl Chef

Leave a Reply

