Greek-style Turkey Chili and Popovers

Dinner: I invented a recipe for a Greek-style turkey chili, which came into my head during work when a coworker was eating his traditional turkey chili for dinner. It came out fairly well, even though I forgot to add garlic and was short one jar of mom’s canned tomatoes. All I did was brown a pound of ground turkey with coriander and cayenne, then added a chopped vidalia onion and cooked that down slightly before topping with a cubed eggplant and covering the pot for at least 5 minutes. Then I added a can of cannelini beans, a medium jar of mom’s canned tomatoes, 2 tablespoons tomato paste, and herbes de provence (since I didn’t have plain oregano). I also had to add about 1/2 a cup of chicken stock because I was light on tomatoes. I cooked that down for 10-15 minutes. Even with proper seasoning (I think…) and a topping of tzatziki sauce (I chose that over crumbled feta), it was missing something – it was missing a punch. Initially I’d planned on adding some halved, pitted kalamata olives near the end, but I decided the tastes wouldn’t mesh very well. I think that adding two cloves of minced garlic with the onion would have fixed that!

I paired the meal with some homemade popovers, my first attempt at baking them! I used the recipe from Joy of Cooking, which is what mom uses. Even with muffin tins they came out really well! They are definitely something I will make again. That and some homemade bread, perhaps a homemade baguette…. Yum!

Leave a Reply

