Tilapia Piccata

Dinner: I made tilapia “piccata”, a pretty standard version of it with a few twists. I floured the tilapia fillets (salt and pepper in the flour), and pan-fried them for about three minutes per side. Then I popped them in the oven on warm while I sauteed a shallot, then deglazed the pan with some vermouth, butter, lemon juice, and some capers. I served the sauce over the fish and some whole-wheat penne, plus had a chopped and sauteed leek on the side. Great dinner!! The tilapia had a very thin coating, though, and was very fragile, but it did stay intact (happily). Someday I’ll make chicken piccata, too….

Leave a Reply

