Cashew Brittle

Baked: First time making brittle … I had to do something with the cashew bits in my big Target cashew container, so I made some cashew brittle. I haven’t tasted it yet, but no burns, no nasty smells, and nothing out of the ordinary – good so far! Looks delicious, and the parents should love it for an extra Thanksgiving treat! I started by toasting the cashews for about 5-10 minutes at 375 until they were shiny and smelled toasted; I let them cool on a plate and used the same foiled pan to hold the brittle (but sprayed Pam on it first). The I dissolved 2+ cups sugar and 1/2 cup water over medium to medium-high heat, stirring occasionally until dissolved. I let it boil away until it turned a golden brown, a little over 15 minutes. I did have to use a pastry brush around the edges to dissolve some sugar that crept up, but only twice. Then I worked quickly to stir in 2 teaspoons cinnamon, scant 2 T butter, and the cashews. After I made sure the mixture was homogeneous, I poured it into the baking pan – it was much more fluid than I expected it to be. About an hour later, voila! All ready! I think I’m ready for prime time….

Leave a Reply

