Roasted Grape Tomatoes and Herb-Crusted Tilapia

I decided within this last year that my favorite vegetable is no longer the pea, but the tomato. Now, I realize what a misnomer this is, since technically a pea is a starch and a tomato is a fruit, yet all the same it is my favorite. I still love steamed peas and delicious homemade pea soup, but the tomato is so much more versatile and varied that it wins hands down. How did it take me this long to realize this?!?

Tonight I made a great recipe which I lifted from a recent issue of Everyday Food (my new favorite subscription). You roast grape tomatoes, sliced scallions (1 inch), olive oil, and kosher salt at 400F for 15-20 minutes, until the tomato skins burst. The flavor is incredible! My olive oil is a homemade rosemary and garlic infusion, which definitely helps. Tonight this side dish starred next to a roasted tilapia fillet with an herb-bread crumb-parmesan crust, which was also quite delicious. A bit of the infused olive oil mixed in with freshly chopped thyme, rosemary, and basil and the seasoned bread crumbs was pressed onto the fish and topped with a bit of the grated cheese. A light and yummy dinner!

Leave a Reply

